Learning from my mistakes, Lesson 3 – Put your own oxygen mask on first

I thought this might be a good word for those with a family in crisis or who know one…

One Flawed Dad

This post is about putting a priority on self-care, and what happened when I didn’t.

At the end of 2014, I filed a Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) claim, and I have been working only half-time since then. This decision probably saved my life and my sanity, and it almost certainly saved my family. I am not exaggerating. Not one little bit.

I have 4 bio kids and 2 adopted from foster care. Both my adopted kids came with a history of significant complex developmental trauma. We were totally unprepared for what was to follow. For this post, it is sufficient to say that we were at the most difficult end of the trauma behavior spectrum. Our home was in chaos for years, and all of us were traumatized by it.

For 7 years I endured it all, becoming increasing depleted. I learned that there is a place beyond utter…

View original post 628 more words

One thought on “Learning from my mistakes, Lesson 3 – Put your own oxygen mask on first

Leave a Reply

